Dear Lord

I see her day in and day out, she tries each day and each time, to be a little more like the woman on the 15′ inch LCD screen and less like the woman whom you created at conception. Each moment that she lives, she strives to undress herself and rid herself of the original which always follows her like a shadow. Each breath that she breathes, she hopes that maybe one-day when she looks in the mirror she will see a different reflection, one that will give her more acceptance as well as recognition…dear lord, this prayer is for her…

I pray for her today like I do each and every single day. I pray that she too can see what is beautiful and what is true… it’s a pity eyes can’t be borrowed… I would have loaned her mine lenses that recognize beauty true beauty. Each day I hope that she might be exorcised of the demon that possesses her and influences her to see negativity where goodness is manifested…

She wears a transparent dress but attempts to use a pseudonym and be incognito. Yet we all see the soiled garments out in the open in full view. She puts on stilettos just so to tower over her problems but over her they still hulk and engulf her. With a layer of face powder and mascara she attempts to cover the tear treks but still they are a dam with the floodgates open and still they come…lord I pray for her.

It saddens me each time I see her because it brings to mind the truth of what Tawona saw.. yes Tawona did see… they really don’t make them like our mothers’ anymore and it saddens me so. If only Lord if only… this change could be retarded in their tracks and reversed so as to make them see the value, in their possession, the value in them which makes them priceless.

Lord I pray for her…Her who I see every night on barrow –chilling in the avenues. Selling goods which were never on sale whose value surpasses the couple of cents their traded for. Each night she goes back, yet her heart yearns for release- for so much more, which though glistens in the shade of the avenues has a false allure… lord I pray for her…

she might be reading this prayer right now at this very moment and her heart is a battleground of conflicting emotions which though true she denies… I pray for her and hope my prayer gives her solace. It might be her friend reading this letter to the most high, and her image is paramount in her minds’ eye… still I pray for her… Lord be with her… take care of her… Make her love her…

AMEN

