HOLD ME

 

Sing to me that song

Which lulled me to sleep

Secure in the bosom of mine own

And content in all the love that you have always shown

 

Whisper to me the words

Of my childhood

Which chased away nightmares

And made me deaf to hurtful jeers

 

Hold me in the arms

That banished youthful terrors

And made me against all odds cope

By enfolding me in expectancy, joy and hope

 

Yes sing to me that song

Whisper to me the words

Hold me in the arms

That held me once

And loved me earnestly to the core

But can never once more do so

Mama Shakwi… please hold me just once more

 

BY TANYARADZWA MASAIRE

 
Creative Commons License
This work by Tanyaradzwa Vanadis17 Masaire is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License.

for more good poems and stories click here

